Standard Setting Panel Applications

Applications for Standard-Setting Panels Due May 17

DESE is pleased to invite educators and other stakeholders to apply to participate in a standard setting meeting for the next-generation MCAS tests. The meeting will take place August 5–7, 2019.

The purpose of the standard setting is to identify and recommend achievement level cut scores for the next-generation MCAS tests. A cut score defines the minimum performance required for a particular level of achievement. The standard setting will be conducted by four panels of Massachusetts educators and other stakeholders, working under the direction of trained facilitators, in the following grades and subject areas:

    • Grade 10 English Language Arts (ELA)

    • Grade 10 Mathematics

    • Grade 5 Science and Technology/Engineering (STE)

    • Grade 8 STE

We are looking for candidates with content expertise, familiarity with the Massachusetts curriculum frameworks, and teaching experience in the grade and content area indicated on the application. We strongly encourage educators with diverse backgrounds and who teach groups of diverse students to apply.

The deadline to apply is Friday, May 17, 2019. Principals are encouraged to share the information with educators at their schools. This is an excellent professional development opportunity for educators to help define the next-generation MCAS, and we hope that you will share this invitation widely with your teachers and school communities. For more information, including the application process please see: